Welcome to a reader advisor page featuring new or popular titles. For the most recent additions click the New & Recommended tab. Use the dropdown menu under Our Newest Titles for a list of items by category. Visit the Kids Zone and Teen Scene pages to find the newest books for these reading levels. Questions? Call us at 255-2933 x 221.

Read-alikes for Popular Titles

RA-1a
Moving between contemporary Maine and Depression-era Minnesota, the Orphan Train: A Novel by Christina Baker Kline is a story of upheaval and resilience, of second chances, and unexpected friendship.
In The Orchardist by Amanda Coplin, two young sisters search for safe haven.
A foster child struggles to overcome her past in The Language of Flowers by Vanessa Diffenbaugh.




RA-2a

If you liked The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt, try Tell the Wolves I’m Home by Carol Rifka Brunt.
Both are atmospheric, lyrical coming-of-age novels that follow the experiences of grieving teens who receive an unexpected gift from lost loved ones.




RA-3a
Chilled by Frozen in Time: An Epic Story of Survival, and a Modern Quest for Lost Heroes of World War II by Mitchell Zuckoff? The dramatic 1912 self-rescue of Douglas Mawson in Alone on the Ice: The Greatest Survival Story in the History of Exploration by David Roberts makes for thrilling and inspiring reading. Or try The Cruelest Miles: The Heroic Story of Dogs and Men in a Race Against an Epidemic by Gay Salisbury, in which 20 dog teams relay desperately needed serum across the Alaskan wilderness in a heroic dash now celebrated by the annual Iditarod Dog Sled Race.


RA-4a
David and Goliath: Underdogs, Misfits, and the Art of Battling Giants
by Malcolm Gladwell looks at the comples and surprising ways in which the weak can defeat the strong and how having goals influences our sense of success. Imperfect: An Improbable Life by Jim Abbott tells how a one-handed pitcher rose above his disability to pitch a no-hitter in Major League Baseball, excelling at the sport he loved.




RA-5a
In Khaled Hossieni’s And the Mountains Echoed, the choices people make resonate through subsequent generations. For another tale that contains vivid historical details and spans generations and continents, try The Valley of Amazement by Amy Tan. Or, experience real life in Afghanistan with The Dressmaker of Khair Khana: Five Sisters, One Remarkable Family, and the Woman Who Risked Everything to Keep Them Safe by Gayle Tzemach Lemmon. As the sole breadwinner for her five siblings in Kabul, a young woman creates a thriving business despite the Taliban authorities.


RA-6a
Little Wolves by Thomas Maltman is the 2014 All Iowa Reads selection. Set in a Minnesota smalltown in 1987, a father searches for answers after his son commits a shocking murder, and a pastor’s wife returns to uncover the secrets of her past. Once Upon a Lie, a new mystery by Maggie Barbieri, is also about family, justice, and the choices we make that define who we are.




RA-7a
Long-Shining Waters
by Danielle Sosin offers three stories whose characters are separated by centuries and circumstance, yet connected across time by a shared geography. This strong sense of place is echoed in The Lighthouse Road by Peter Geye. In the wilds of early-20th-century Duluth, the orphan son of an immigrant woman tries to build a life for himself and the woman he loves.




RA-8a
The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Olympics
by Daniel Brown describes how a group of working class youths emerge from obscurity to defeat a field of elite international rivals. Fiction at the games can be found in Garden of Beasts: A Novel of Berlin 1936 by Jeffery Deaver. Here, a German-American hit man poses as an Olympic contender to kill a member of Hitler’s regime. Or try the Bernhard Gunther mysteries of Philip Kerr, beginning with March Violets, in which a private investigator solves a case of theft, murder, and corruption.

529 Pierce St.
4005 Morningside Ave.
2912 Hamilton Blvd.
Sioux City Iowa 51101
Sioux City Iowa 51106
(Lower B, Plaza Professional Center)
712.255.2933
712.255.2924
Sioux City Iowa 51104
Monday-Wednesday 9am-8pm
Monday-Thursday 10am-6pm
712.255.2926
Thursday-Saturday 9am-5pm
Friday-Saturday 10am-5pm
Monday-Friday 10:30am-5:30pm
Sunday (Sept-May) 1pm-5pm