Read A Likes By Title
     Catalog Search

The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry

If you like...
The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry
by: Rachel Joyce

Harold is convinced that he must deliver a letter to an old friend in order to save her, meeting various characters along the way and reminiscing about the events of his past and people he has known.

... try these amusing stories of self-discovery, funny pilgrimages and heartwarming stories about everyday people.

 

And the Mountains Echoed

If you like...
And the Mountains Echoed
by: Khaled Hosseini

The best-selling author of The Kite Runner and A Thousand Splendid Suns presents a story inspired by human love, how people take care of one another and how choices resonate through subsequent generations.

... try these accounts of life in Afghanistan, more family sagas, and novels with a strong sense of place.

 

Orphan Train

If you like...
Orphan Train: A Novel
by: Christina Baker Kline

Moving between contemporary Maine and Depression-era Minnesota, the Orphan Train is a powerful tale of upheaval and resilience, of second chances, and unexpected friendship.

... try these stories of Orphan Train riders, children in foster care, second chances, rural Depression-era childhood, makeshift families, and New York City immigrants.

 

Frozen in Time: An Epic Story of Survival, and a Modern Quest for Lost Heroes of World War II

If you like...
Frozen in Time: An Epic Story of Survival, and a Modern Quest for Lost Heroes of World War II
by: Mitchell Zuckoff

Drawing on intensive research and a firsthand account of the dangerous 2012 expedition, this thrilling true story of survival, which moves between World War II and today, follows the survivors of a U.S. cargo plane crash in 1942 and their 148 days spent fighting for their lives during a brutal Arctic winter.

... try these life and death survival accounts.

 

David and Goliath: Underdogs, Misfits, and the Art of Battling Giants - Gladwell

If you like...
David and Goliath: Underdogs, Misfits, and the Art of Battling Giants
by: Malcolm Gladwell

Drawing upon examples from around the world, the author looks at the complex and surprising ways in which the weak can defeat the strong, the small can fight the giant, and how our goals (often culturally determined) make a difference in our sense of success.

... try these stories about overcoming, underdogs, competition, success, and the disadvantaged.

 

Page 1 of 6

Featured Book



Our Newest Titles

For the past...  


Our Newest
Movies & Music
For the past...  

Book Browse

Novelist

Online Book Clubs

Award Winners

529 Pierce St.
4005 Morningside Ave.
2912 Hamilton Blvd.
Sioux City Iowa 51101
Sioux City Iowa 51106
(Lower B, Plaza Professional Center)
712.255.2933
712.255.2924
Sioux City Iowa 51104
Monday-Wednesday 9am-8pm
Monday-Thursday 10am-8pm
712.255.2926
Thursday-Saturday 9am-5pm
Friday-Saturday 10am-5pm
Monday and Wednesday 12pm-6pm
Sunday (Sept-May) 1pm-5pm
 
Tuesday, Thursday, and Friday 11am-5pm
 
 
Saturday 11am-4pm