Read A Likes By Title | Page 6
     Catalog Search

The Art of Racing in the Rain - Stein

If you like...
The art of racing in the rain
by: Stein, Garth

Meet Enzo, a wise old dog filled with observations about his racecar driving owner, Denny, and the life they share together. Lamenting the fact that he lacks the proper vocal chords, tongue, and thumbs to better navigate the world of people, he nevertheless thinks like one of the family. In this charming story Denny employs racing strategies to overcome life’s calamities in an effort to find success both on and off the track.

... try these fiction and nonfiction selections that include the human-dog relationship, auto racing, and insightful first person narrative

Still Alice - Genova

If you like...
Still Alice
by: Genova, Lisa

In this compelling debut novel, the author, herself a Harvard neuroscientist, imagines the life of a celebrated professor, who, at the height of her career notices a forgetfulness creeping into her life. By turns heartbreaking, inspiring and terrifying, this novel captures, in remarkable detail, what it is like to literally lose one's mind.

... try these titles concerning Alzheimer's Disease, memory disorders and other life-changing events

Warmth of Other Suns - Wilkerson

If you like...
The warmth of other suns
by: Wilkerson, Isabel

In this beautifully-written masterwork, Pulitzer Prize-winning author Isabel Wilkerson chronicles the decades-long migration of black citizens who, in search of a better life, fled the South for northern and western cities. From 1915 to 1970, this exodus of almost six million people changed the face of America.

... try these nonfiction works about population shifts, racism and narrative US history

Room - Donoghue

If you like...
Room
by: Donoghue, Emma, 1969-

A 5-year-old narrates a story about his life growing up in a single room where his mother aims to protect him from the man who abducted her as a teenager and held her prisoner for seven years.

... try these stories about social and emotional isolation and more

Page 6 of 6

Featured Book



Our Newest Titles

For the past...  


Our Newest
Movies & Music
For the past...  

Novelist

Online Book Clubs

Award Winners

529 Pierce St.
4005 Morningside Ave.
2912 Hamilton Blvd.
Sioux City Iowa 51101
Sioux City Iowa 51106
(Lower B, Plaza Professional Center)
712.255.2933
712.255.2924
Sioux City Iowa 51104
Monday-Wednesday 9am-8pm
Monday-Thursday 10am-6pm
712.255.2926
Thursday-Saturday 9am-5pm
Friday-Saturday 10am-5pm
Monday-Friday 10:30am-5:30pm
Sunday (Sept-May) 1pm-5pm